meet the sheep

The Shawl that Broke My English Knack

I learned to knit the English way, and it has served me well. I’ve made uncountable hats, sweaters, scarves, and other lovely things by “throwing” my stitches. But I was always just a bit jealous of how fast those continental knitters whizzed down their rows, so I finally took a class to learn how they do it. In hopes of making my transition to continental permanent, I started on a very simple shawl (all knits!). We’ll see if it sticks. For inspiration, I’m using a beautiful, celery green yarn fom Twirl Yarns in Napa.

TwirlMaterials:

  • 2 skeins Twirl yarn, “Genista on Sweet Magnolia” (lace-weight blend of wool, alpaca, and mohair)
  • 40 in. circular needle in size US 10 (or whatever size works with the yarn you’ve chosen to achieve your desired laciness)

Gauge:

  • Not particularly important, but mine is 16 stitches per 4 in (and looking a little wobbly in this picture, but hey, it’s my first continental project).

TwirlInstructions:

  • Cast on 3 stitches
  • Row 1: knit 1, kfb, knit to end of row
  • Repeat Row 1 until you have a sizeable shawl, run out of yarn, or finally stop picking up the working yarn in your right hand, whichever comes first.
  • Bind off.

Stay tuned for pictures of the finished project.

Twirl

This entry was published on March 28, 2014 at 2:38 pm. It’s filed under Patterns and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Follow any comments here with the RSS feed for this post.

2 thoughts on “The Shawl that Broke My English Knack

  1. Pingback: Simple Shawl (Continental Style) Complete! | meet the sheep

  2. Pingback: Fibershed at the Temescal Farmers’ Market | meet the sheep

Leave a Reply

